MDOPA Leadership

An Executive Board governs the Miami-Dade Optometric Physicians Association. The Executive Board consists of 5 elected officers (President, Immediate Past President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer) and 3 appointed Trustees to the Board. It is empowered to conduct MDOPA business and meets every month to:

  • Transact MDOPA business.
  • Establish MDOPA policy
In addition, MDOPA Adjunct Board members may advise the MDOPA Board of Trustees at these monthly meetings. The adjunct members consist of a Florida Optometric Association representative, a Southern Council of Optometrists representative and a Dr. Bruce Heiken Memorial Fund representative.

MDOPA Board Members:                                                         

President: Raphael Perez, O.D.
Vice President: Laura Espinosa Davis, O.D.
Secretary/Treasurer:  Teresita Bollar, O.D.
Immediate Past President:  Nathan Etten, O.D. 
Trustees:  Osvaldo Cabrera, O.D. 
               Eric Chow, O.D. 
                  Carmen Perez Blanco, O.D 
               Celina Ruiz, O.D       
Adjunct Board Members:

Southern Council of Optometrists: Emilio Balius, O.D.
Florida Optometric Association: Adam Stelzer, O.D.
Dr. Bruce Heiken Memorial Fund: Alan Levitt, O.D.

MDOPA Committee Chairpersons:

Legislative Action: Nathan Etten, O.D.
Membership: Teresita Bollar, O.D.
Miami Nice: Stephen Morris, O.D., Emilio Balius, O.D.